Texas A&M University Graduate and Professional Student Council General Assembly 2016-2017 Session

A resolution that supports Student Counseling Service's request for SAFAB funding

Presented by Brenna Lin on October 18, 2016

Whereas:	The Graduate and Professional Student Council exists to govern and to serve as the voice of all graduate and professional students at Texas A&M University.
Whereas:	The Student Counseling Service supports the academic and student development missions of Texas A&M University through the commitment to the development of the whole person.
Whereas:	The number of students the university admits continues to increase, the demands for services continues to increase.
Whereas:	According to the International Association of Counseling Services, the recommended ratio of students to counselors is 1,500 to 1, while Texas A&M is currently at 2,750 to 1.
Let it be Resolved:	The Graduate and Professional Student Council supports the requests made by Student Counseling Service to the Student Activities Fee Advisory Board
Let it be Further Resolved:	A copy of this resolution shall be posted and delivered to: Maggie Gartner Executive Director of Student Counseling Service Josh Fuller Chair, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Marisa Biondi Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Grey Bonin Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Anthony Gacasan Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Alex Goodman Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board

1 2

Trevor Groves Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Bryan McBride Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Nina Saint Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Vy Tran Board Member, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Tom Reber Advisor, Student Affairs Fee Advisory Board Paul Taele President of the Graduate and Professional Student Council Jamie Wangler Advisor to the Graduate and Professional Student Council **Stefanie Baker** Advisor to the Graduate and Professional Student Council

Action Taken: _____

Certified By: _____ Christian Nygren Executive Vice President

Date: _____

Duly Approved By: _____

Paul Taele President